How attractive are you?

The way that others view you will have a direct affect on how they also view the gospel message.  This is an amazing realization isn’t it!

While Paul was writing to Titus he thought he would address those Christians who find themselves in a position of slavery.  He writes, “Slaves must always obey their masters and do their best to please them. They must not talk back or steal, but must show themselves to be entirely trustworthy and good. Then they will make the teaching about God our Savior attractive in every way (2:9-10).” For Paul, what owners understood about the Gospel came from how their Christian slaves communicated it. Slaves were to live lives that made the gospel message “attractive in every way.”

This is a charge that is applicable to all of us today – to everyone everywhere that wears the name of Christ.  We are called to live lives that make the gospel of Christ “attractive in every way.” So I go back to my original statement: how people in the world view you directly affects how they will also view the gospel message.

I am constantly amazed by the tremendous trust that God puts into clay pots like myself.  I do not claim to be strong and unfazed by temptation, but rather I am weak and susceptible to many temptations.  Yet, God trusts me.  God trusts you.  How encouraging!  Despite our downfalls and goofs, God still says, “I trust you with my gospel.” Do not let this frighten you.  Be encouraged because God would not give you this great responsibility if He did not believe you were capable.  You are capable of being “attractive for the sake of the gospel.”  So be willing to change what needs to be changed in your life so that the message of Christ can be heard loud and clear to those around you.

Leave a comment